Granite Bay Today

Our staff

Granite Bay Today is a collaborative news source combining all of Granite Bay High School’s publication classes to inform and entertain the community with relevant stories.

We’re a group of high school students who are passionate about journalism.

2017-18 Year


Karl Grubaugh
McKenna Aram, Katie Cologna, Brayden Johnk, Stephanie Kang, and Sabina Mahavni







The Grizzly Gazette started in 1997-98; adviser Kay Bacharach and editors Alicia Parlette and Andrew Reeves led a one-term class that produced two editions of a single-section tabloid newspaper.

Adviser Karl Grubaugh arrived at GBHS in the fall of 1998, and the Gazette dropped the Grizzly and switched to a broadsheet format under the direction of editors Dianna Jung and Alicia Parlette.

In the next four years, under the leadership of Grubaugh and editors Alicia Parlette and Ali Wood (1999-2000), Bryan Early and Jesse Garton (2000-2001), Ashley Keneller and Vanitha Virudachalam (2001-2002) and Jeff Katz, Emily Inouye and Kimber Holt (2002-2003), the Gazette grew into a multi-section broadsheet, including Green Screen, a tabloid entertainment section.

Lisa Olmo became adviser in 2003-04, and the co-editors-in-chief were Sara Lebastchi, Scott Hollingshead and Tim Bardet. Olmo and Kevin Wherry were the advisers in 2004-05, and the editors were Gian Cretarlo and Niketa Brar.

Grubaugh returned in the fall of 2005, and the editors were Meegan Brooks and Dena Fehrenbacher. In 2006-07, Caitlin Chang and Lauren Snelgrove were the co-editors-in-chief. In 2007-08, it was Juliana Fehrenbacher and Amy Holiday. In 2008-09, it was Paige Xu, Kealy Jaynes and Lauren Grubaugh. In 2009-10, it was Joseph Mullen, Teresa Palkowski and Kurt Chirbas.

In 2010-11, it was Katie Zingheim, Alison Sale, Parker Evans and Jessica Reese who led the way. In 2011-12, Jessica Reese, Shannon Carroll, Kyle Pawlak and Rachael Vasquez led the way. In 2012-13, it was Lena Eyen, Nicole Bales, Chris Pei and Haley Massara, with help from Chase Evans and Kristin Taylor.

In 2013-14, it was Cait Hurley, Kiana Okhovat, Alexa Zogopoulos and Sydney Kahmann. In 2014-15, it was Akash Khosla, Colleen Vivaldi, Tamren Johnk and Neha Kompella. In 2015-16, it was Savitri Asokan, Hannah Holzer and Troy Pawlak.

In 2016-2017, it was Cole Kahmann, Surina Khurana, Carissa Lewis, Anjali Shrivastava and Hannah Xu.

This year, it’s McKenna Aram, Katie Cologna, Brayden Johnk, Stephanie Kang, and Sabina Mahavni.

The Student News Site of Granite Bay High School
Our staff